C.S. Lewis’s Literary Works

C.S. Lewis Literary Works

C.S. Lewis was a prolific writer who authored numerous works in various genres, including fantasy, theology, and literary criticism. If you want to read a short bio on the man (with my stab at some British humor) read that here.

Here is a list of his complete works:

    1. The Pilgrim’s Regress: An Allegorical Apology for Christianity, Reason, and Romanticism (1933)
    2. Out of the Silent Planet (1938)
    3. The Problem of Pain (1940)
    4. The Weight of Glory (1941)
    5. The Screwtape Letters (1942)
    6. The Great Divorce (1945)
    7. That Hideous Strength (1945)
    8. The Abolition of Man (1947)
    9. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)
    10. Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia (1951)
    11. Mere Christianity (1952)
    12. The Horse and His Boy (1954)
    13. The Silver Chair (1953)
    14. The Magician’s Nephew (1955)
    15. The Last Battle (1956)
    16. Reflections on the Psalms (1958)
    17. The Four Loves (1960)
    18. The World’s Last Night and Other Essays (1960)
    19. Studies in Words (1960)
    20. An Experiment in Criticism (1961)
  1. A Grief Observed (1961)
  2. They Asked for a Paper (1962)
  3. The Discarded Image: An Introduction to Medieval and Renaissance Literature (1964)
  4. Letters to Malcolm: Chiefly on Prayer (1964)
  5. Boxen: The Imaginary World of the Young C.S. Lewis (1985)
  6. All My Road Before Me: The Diary of C.S. Lewis, 1922-1927 (1991)
  7. Image and Imagination: Essays and Reviews (1994)
  8. Essay Collection: Literature, Philosophy, and Short Stories (2000)
  9. Essay Collection: Faith, Christianity, and the Church (2000)
  10. Essay Collection: Science, Philosophy, and Religion (2000)
  11. Essay Collection: Myth, Allegory, and Romance (2000)

These are the major works by C.S. Lewis, but there are also various collections of his essays, letters, and speeches available, which further expand his literary output.

In addition to the titles above, Lewis also wrote several books under the pseudonym Clive Hamilton. These books were written earlier in his career and are considered a separate body of work:

  • Spirits in Bondage: A Cycle of Lyrics (1919)
  • Dymer (1926)
  • The Allegory of Love: A Study in Medieval Tradition (1936)